Friday 9/25

For time:
50 Box jump @ 24/20 inch box
50 Jumping pull-ups
50 Kettlebell swings @ 35/26
50 Walking Lunge Step
50 Knees to elbows
50 Push press @ 45/35 pounds
50 Back extensions
50 Wall ball shots @ 20/14 pound ball
50 Burpees
50 Double unders

 

We haven’t posted anything by Lisbeth Darsh in quite a while. I think it’s time for something new written by her just about now.


“Most of us lie to ourselves about the destructiveness of some of our own behaviors.” – Debbie Ford, “The Best Year of Your Life: Dream It, Plan It, Live It”Gulp.

True, right? We all do this. I don’t want to admit it, but I’m going to raise my hand here. I lie to myself about the destructiveness of my own behavior. Most of my life is fairly dialed in (I’m a good person, I raise my family and contribute meaningfully to society) but nonetheless I’m not perfect. You’re probably not perfect either. And we both have some destructive behaviors.

I’m not hitting the meth train or drinking myself into the alleyway, but I’ve got some behaviors that detract from my goals. Sometimes, I eat too much chocolate or I skip the conditioning workout or I short myself on sleep because I had to watch one more episode of “Downton Abbey” or “Orange Is the New Black.” (Yeah, I’m a real rebel. Deal with it.) Not super-destructive, but enough that each incident hurts my efforts toward getting stronger and leaner. And then I use some lie/excuse to explain why I chose that destructive behavior. (I was sad/tired/whatever.)

You’re probably kind of similar, right?

Excuses give us an out, a reason for why we are the way we are and not the way we want to be. Excuses are a soft pillow after a hard day.

But, like you already know or suspect, those excuses aren’t pillows; excuses are actually barriers blocking your path to success. Excuses are not your friends.

You know this, but excuses feel good, right?

It’s not your fault, it’s your:

  • Genes
  • Family
  • Past
  • Emotional issues
  • Injuries
  • Kids, parents, siblings
  • Upbringing
  • Friends
  • Busy schedule
  • Etc, etc, etc

I get it. We all have factors that contribute to our current status, and we should not ignore them. But what would happen if you crushed the easy excuses? What if you picked one excuse each day and shot it dead?

Like this excuse: “I’m too tired to work out.” Guess what? So is everybody else. We’re all tired. But we get off our tushies and haul ourselves into the gym and throw down. Or we hit the trail. We do something. And we feel better afterward, so it’s worth it. Crush that tired excuse today. And if you’re having a hard time crushing that excuse, find a workout partner. The more ornery your workout partner is, the better. Why? Because he/she won’t let you off the hook. They’ll demand you show up—and on time too! (Don’t be afraid of people who hold you to standards. They will help you crush your excuses.) 

sponge busy busy busy

And tomorrow? You know that excuse about your injuries? It might be real. You might have valid injuries. But there’s probably something you can do. If you can’t run, maybe you can walk. If you can’t walk, maybe you can row. If you can’t do pull-ups, maybe you can do ring rows. If you can’t snatch, maybe you can deadlift. The point is this: find something to do, even if it’s small. Crush that excuse. Doing something beats doing nothing. 

Now, don’t try to kill all your excuses in one day. This isn’t a Quentin Tarantino film. Pick one excuse. Just one. Kill it today. Pick another one tomorrow. And, remember, some excuses are like zombies: they have to be killed multiple times. Go all “Walking Dead” on their asses. Why? Because your Better You is so much closer than you realize. Your Better You is within reach on the other side of your excuses. But, like Debbie Ford reminds us, “If you insist on clinging to who you are right now, you’ll miss the extraordinary opportunity to meet the greatest version of yourself.”

Don’t cling. Don’t miss that opportunity. Be brave enough to start marching towards the greatest version of yourself. Pick up some ammo, shoot those excuses, and get moving. Walkers at your six.

hot water cold water heated taylor

 

Leave a Reply

