Thursday 9/17

7 Rounds for time:
7 Deadlift 225/155
15 Sit up

 

I had a bad workout on Monday. The weights felt heavy. My pull ups felt out of synch and harder than normal. I felt like I couldn’t catch my breath. All of that added up to me finishing the workout over 5 minutes slower than the last time we did it.

What Monday really came down to is that I wasn’t mentally in it. I was coming off a long day of travel and getting ready to embark on a second trip shortly. Because of this I knew I wanted to get some moving in but it was really the last thing I wanted to do. So I went through the motions and tried to make the most of it.

Clearly, this is not the best way to approach our workouts. But, I can tell you that afterward I felt a bit better and was ready to get after my projects for the day.

The point here is that all of us have times where we know the workout didn’t go as well as it could have. We’ve all looked in the mirror after a disappointing outcome and known that mentally it just wasn’t our best.

That’s OK.

The important thing here though is that these days don’t become the norm. These days need to be exceptions. They need to be a once a month or so.

What’s also important is that when these days do happen, and they will to all of us, we don’t become defined by them and we don’t let them negatively impact any subsequent efforts.

Monday was a bad day but I know that my next training session won’t be.

 

Leave a Reply

