Tuesday 9/15

5 Rounds for time:
5 Hang Power Snatch @ 135/95
30 Double Under

 

Courtesy of The Players’ Tribune

Why I Do CrossFit

by Jason Khalipa

Jason snatch

The first time I tried CrossFit, I didn’t really get it.

I had been going to conventional gyms regularly since high school and had dabbled in some bodybuilding. To me, working out was about routine. A set number of exercises, performed in a set order, for a set amount of time. But around 2006, a friend of mine showed me this website for something called CrossFit, and at first glance, it piqued my interest.

The first routine I ever tried was called “Fran,” and it was a mix of thrusters and pull-ups. I went through the instructions and tried to follow them as closely as I could. I slowly went through the motions, and at the end of the routine, I didn’t feel all that satisfied. I actually recall wanting to do sit-ups afterwards so I felt like I got a more complete workout. If I had judged CrossFit based on that one experience, I don’t think I would have pursued it at all. But I decided to stick with it.

Nine years later, it’s fair to say that CrossFit has, in many ways, defined my life. I won the second-ever CrossFit Games in 2008 and now own 20 gyms worldwide with my wife. And what made this all possible is the key ingredient to CrossFit that I hadn’t considered the first time I tried it: intensity.

To continue, click here.

Leave a Reply

