Friday 8/14

10 Rounds for time:
3 Weighted Pull Up 45/30
5 Strict Pull Up
7 Kipping Pull Up

For weighted pull-ups place a 45 pound dumbbell between the legs above crossed ankles and jettison the dumbbell after third rep and continue with strict pull-ups and then the kipping pull-ups. Coming off the bar or going to ground constitutes termination of a set. Record time and number of sets to completion.

***REMINDER***

We are hosting a CF Kids seminar this weekend so Saturday’s class will take place at 9:30 at the Park at the end of Myrtle. See you there!

From Hannah

My experience with nutrition changed completely when I started CrossFit in November, 2013. I immediately realized that in order to have a chance at completing the workouts (even the very scaled versions), I needed to overhaul my diet. I simply didn’t have the right fuel in my system to do the type of work I wanted to do.

I started with prepping grilled meats, steamed vegetables, and fresh fruits on a weekly basis and packing everything to work with me in Tupperware. A year of that, in addition to three to five days per week at the gym, resulted in 35 pounds of weight loss and a complete turnaround in my overall health. Then, I hit a weight loss plateau. It was Mike D. who suggested that I do a Google search for “CrossFit Zone.” The search engine gods delivered to me a PDF from The CrossFit Journal, published in 2004, and I was really excited to start this more structured approach to good nutrition. I still carry that printout around with me and check it when I’m unsure about block value of foods.

Zone works a little like Weight Watchers: all food items have a points system (in this case,“blocks”) and everyone gets a relatively tailored number of blocks to eat per day, respective to
their body size and/or fitness needs. The trick is that the Zone blends a balanced ratio of protein, carbs, and fats, to maximize lean body mass and athletic performance. I don’t know why more
people aren’t doing this!

I began with 13 blocks per day, which is the prescribed amount for a large female, and quickly realized why more people aren’t doing this. I was eating a TON of food, and some days, the sheer quantity of food at breakfast made me feel nauseated. It was such an uncomfortable chore to eat that much! I sent distress texts to Mike, who encouraged me to stay the course for two weeks. In the beginning, my typical breakfast consisted of three scrambled eggs; 2/3 cups of oatmeal; ¼ cup of cantaloupe; 9 almonds. That’s a lot of volume. I quickly figured out that breakfast was more manageable if I shifted some of the carbs around. For example: I reduced the oatmeal to 1/3 cup and increased the cantaloupe to ½ cup. The net result is the same number of carb blocks, but it was so much easier to manage. If you start this diet and feel similarly overwhelmed, don’t give up! Make some smart adjustments and see if that helps.

The first thing I noticed is that my cravings for sweet disappeared. Dave explained that this is because eating the right foods in the right quantities prevents the spikes and crashes in blood sugar that perpetuate cravings for junk food. The second thing I noticed is that my performance in the gym took a noticeable turn for the better. This is no magic pill…I didn’t go from a subpar athlete to a phenom, but I have PRd nearly every workout I’ve redone, and I feel like I have access to a lot more energy while I’m working out. The cherry on top, though, is that I’ve lost another 10 pounds and have noticed a positive difference in my body’s muscle composition.

This has been a great experience for me and I definitely recommend giving it a try. I should mention that I definitely cheat, but the Zone is at least 90% of my diet, and I’m happy with the
results. Sometimes, you’re just going to eat a churro ice cream sandwich. Oh. Well.

Good luck with whatever nutrition plan you choose!

Leave a Reply

