Friday 12/12

“Elizabeth”
For time:
21-15-9
Squat Clean @ 135/95
Ring Dip

We often talk about the importance of nutrition when it comes to weight loss, but it’s also important to think about it in terms of performance. In the last few month’s Amy and I have made a concerted effort to be sure to make better food choices on a regular basis. It’s not that our food prior to that was horrible by any means, but after Ellie joined our little crew we both felt like it would be easy to use her as an excuse to let our own healthy lifestyle fall by the wayside, and we were determined not to let that happen.

The strange thing that’s happened to me in being more diligent with my food is that I’ve started to see it affect other decisions I make. Since I know I’ve been making solid food choices, this makes me more enthusiastic to train. Since I’m more enthusiastic to train I’m more likely to be sure to get 5-6 workouts in per week. Also, in that enthusiasm comes enjoyment, I’m more likely to truly enjoy the training sessions. Enthusiasm and enjoyment make it easier to push through the discomfort that always comes with the workouts we do. So not only do I have the single positive element in my fitness of a good nutritional base BUT I also get the added benefit of consistency, enjoyment and enthusiasm.

The cumulative result of all those things together is that since 11/14 I’ve PR’d six times. Of the workouts I’d done before ( 2 rep Power Clean and 5 rep Back Squat) I tied my PR. So out of 8 possible times I hit a new personal record 6 times. Not to mention the fact that some of those PR’s (Jackie, pr by over a minute, 3 rep back squat pr by 30lbs) were substantial, especially considering the fact that I’ve been CrossFitting since 2007.

What I’m trying to get at here is this. You can train consistently with intensity doing the best possible programming but until you really dial in your food you’re truly only operating at a fraction of your potential.

 

Supplemental

Work to a heavy squat clean double

Work to a heavy push jerk

Work to a heavy split jerk

 

 

Leave a Reply

