Wednesay 8/13

For time:

30 Thruster @ 95/65
20 Sit Up
400-meter run
20 Thruster @ 115/75
30 Sit Up
400-meter run
10 Thruster @ 135/95
40 Sit Up
400-meter run

Succeeding in anything takes perseverance, dedication and hard work. CrossFit not only follows these rules but it may be the best example I’ve ever found in practice. Very rarely do people walk into a CrossFit gym and just find themselves good at everything. It takes work. It takes practice. It takes showing up on days when you think you might fail miserably. Because in that work, in that practice and in that failure lie the seeds of your eminent success, if only you make yourself show up again tomorrow.

 

From our friends at CrossFit Omaha

Joe Westerlin

Consistency, persistence. Been training people for 10 years now, and I’ve never found a special formula. Wherever you belong, whatever program you follow, stick with it, work hard, stick with it, diet matters, stick with it, sleep matters, stick with it, life decisions matter, stick with it. Oh yeah, believe in it. Stick with it.

Sharing success.

Meet Emeka Nwankwo and Brittany Demery. CrossFit Omaha members since late September 2013. Through dedication and consistent effort they have experienced success. We are proud to share their stories and hope it encourages current members as well as future members.

How CrossFit changed my life

By: Emeka Nwankwo

Free Trail start weight: 369

First official class start weight: 365

Weight as of today: 299

 

Let’s start from the beginning and with who I am.

My name is Emeka Nwankwo and I am a former defensive lineman from The University of Notre Dame by way of Miami, Florida.

So it’s safe to say I am no stranger to working out or the weight-room. My average playing weight was normally 270-285. I started to notice an increasing weight change during the spring of 2011. By graduation I weighed 315 a number I thought I would never see in my life. I mean I knew I would border the line of 300 lbs. but never thought I would ever cross it. I started to notice that clothes I had worn not 4 months earlier where tight and uncomfortable. I would say that I suffered from a case of depression maybe because the NFL was in my rear-view and I just had this don’t care attitude.

Let’s fast forward to the second chance or when I was first introduced to CrossFit. Summer 2012 weight: 335.  I was watching ESPN and the CrossFit games came on and as I watched the more and more fascinated I became I had never seen anything like it before but in my mind I knew that it was something I believed I could one day be good at.

The big move: Moved to Omaha, NE February of 2013 Weight: 345. By this point I was like new city, new me but that wasn’t the case I was sparingly going to the gym and when I would go it never felt beneficial like I was accustomed to in college. I was never good at holding my self-accountable and I am not afraid to admit it. In my heart I knew that I needed structure, a plan, set focus if things were to change. So I began window shopping at local gyms with my girlfriend Brittany Demery trying to find the right gym that would fit the budget and also appeal to my needs. We did a couple free trails at some local gyms but it was not what I was looking for or needed. CrossFit games 2013 came on and I was like I have to find a gym in Omaha and see this for myself. So the first person we ever met at CFO was Joe we talked needs, benefits, and experience. We sat in on a workout loved what we saw not so much the price a month. It just didn’t fit the budget at the time. So we started Kickboxing that lasted about 10 weeks Start weight 345 End weight 345. At this point I just went into a downward spiral and put on about 24 pounds in a month. At this point 400 lbs. didn’t look to far away and it scared the hell out of me. So I moved things around and budgeted accordingly made a commitment to myself to start CrossFit as a birthday gift to myself.

 

The journey begins:

The pain I felt during the 1st free trail class was a pain I haven’t felt in a long time. After that workout that lasted only a couple minutes just confirmed that this was the place I needed to be. The only thing I did have going for myself was my strength and I knew it would have to be worked on in abundance to even get close to where I was back in 2011. I heard the word paleo thrown around a lot on CrossFit websites and gyms. So I looked it up and found out what it was and wondered if it would be beneficial to me or even if I would be able to stay true and committed to the meal plan. I started and stopped a week later this was around Jan. 2014. I had no plan I was just winging it. So I was determined to find a Meal Plan that me and Brittany could follow. I ended up with a meal plan for a whole month and we followed it with a few modifications to fit our likes and budget. We officially joined the paleo lifestyle and culture March 9th 2014 at a weight of 348 already down 17 lbs. from my first day of group sessions which was started on Oct 31st 2013. I felt the need to document my weight lost and keep track on a weekly basis of the food I was consuming and how it would affect my workouts during the week.

Mastering Movements:

Since I am a former football player a lot of the bar related movements such as (bench press, squats, cleans, jerks, shoulder press, snatches, and deadlifts) were already ingrained into my muscle memory. Now the focus was cleaning up the technique for a more efficient movement in addition to increasing strength.

The great thing about CrossFit in my opinion is the diversity. Never in a millions years could I see myself doing a handstand or climbing a rope even when I was playing football. Those were two of the biggest milestones that I was able to accomplish at CFO. As the weight comes off the workouts don’t necessarily get easier. They actually in my opinion are getting harder. But that is a great thing in my case because I find myself not having to or hardly ever scaling the WOD (workout of the day) any more. So now starts a whole other chapter to this story because I am setting new goals, and new milestones with a confident attitude that I am capable of doing a high percentage of the movements in any WOD, now completing the WOD is a totally different story.

This a has been a life-changing 10 months and I truly believe that without CrossFit and CFO I wouldn’t be able to recognize let alone like the person I see in the mirror every day. So thank you. Thank you for reading this, thank you for making it to the end of this chapter and Thank you to my CFO Box (CrossFit gym) all of you guys have been there from the beginning with nothing but support and positive energy and you never let me quit and I appreciate it. CrossFit is more than a workout, or place, it’s a lifestyle, a family, and a community that is competitive all the time, and pushes one another to our limits and past them. I just hope you’re still around for the next chapter.

My message to those of you who are thinking about CrossFit understand that you get out what you put in, with time and effort will come results that’s a fact. The only thing you can control is how much time and how much effort you put in.

 

Here are some keys things I will leave you with that made things easier for me.

Surround yourself with like minds. It wouldn’t make sense to be around someone who talked negative about crossfit.

Set goals

Set milestones

Have a plan, write it out

Keep a log and update it on set dates.

Eat, Eat, and EAT!!! Seriously eat.

Water (Gallon a Day)

Sleep ZZZzzzzzzzz

_________________________________

From Brittany Demery

Wow…. Where do I start?

Free trial start weight: 205
First official class weight: 203

Weight as of today: 177

My name is Brittany Demery, 24, and I am from Oklahoma City, Oklahoma. I am a former collegiate basketball player.

   I first realized that my weight had increased significantly my senior year in college, when one day I stepped on the scaled and I weight 200lbs. That day I think I cried my eyes out because I’d never thought that I would ever reach that weight of 200lbs. For a while I ignored it and after I graduated in 2012 I tried to get back on track with working out and eating right but just couldn’t stay motivated.

   In March of 2013 I moved to Omaha, NE. When I got here I told myself that I would hold myself accountable, eat right and be more consistent with working out, but I still could not keep myself motivated. I felt  like matters only seemed to get worse! So Emeka and I tried several different gyms and a 10 week fitness class and the result that I had at the end of the class were the same as the ones I had when I started the class.

So after that Emeka begin to do a lot more research about CrossFit. I really wasn’t up to it and was a little hesitant about it. After Emeka took his first five classes and I sat in on a couple, I knew this was something that I wanted to do. So I bought into CrossFit.

I went in to my first class at a weight of 203 lbs, working hard but not eating right. At the beginning we played around with different meal plans and different workouts and nothing seemed to help me go in the direction that i was trying to go.  During the Open we started a strict paleo diet! And what the difference that has made.

I have lost almost 30lbs and i feel amazing! My journey to getting my life back healthy has been a struggle. But I can honestly say that the time that I put in and the pain that I have gone through has been well worth this journey thanks to crossfit.  I feel more confident in myself and in my body to tackle any workout thrown my way.

CrossFit has definitely helped me regain that fire i once had for competition. CrossFit in my opinion has done more than just increase strength or changed my body, it has changed my life style as a whole. I am more aware of what i put into my body.
The reason I love the Crossfit community is not only are they  supportive in the gym but outside of the gym as well, especially Crossfit Omaha!

To close, for those of you that are on the fence about CrossFit take it from me it will be one of the best decisions you will ever make to become apart of the community and as well as one of the most challenging and most unforgettable experiences in your life!

  InstaSize_2014_7 _ 10217 PhotoGrid_1406868033469

img1405282665405

 

Supplemental

Tabata row

Accumulate 3 minutes in handstand, either against a wall or freestanding.

2 min hollow rock
2 min superman hold

Leave a Reply

