Friday 2/7

Complete as many rounds and reps as possible in 10 minutes of:
60 Bar-facing burpees
30 Overhead squats (120lbs / 55kg)
10 Muscle-ups

Here’s a story from one of our own Andrea P. about her experience with CrossFit and pregnancy:

A few weeks ago, Dave asked me to write about my pregnancy experience and as many of you moms
out there know I just now found the time! I am so grateful for CrossFit, not just because it changed me
into a more energetic positive person, but it helped in SO many ways throughout my pregnancy and
after. I know that my health and my sons health is a direct result of Crossfit and I wanted to share my
story with you.

I had a relatively “easy” pregnancy. If you can call heartburn, leg cramps, night sweats and mood swings
easy. I did the WODs 3 times a week and tried to fit in as much cardio on my own as I could. I endured
the negative comments from my co-workers, husband and family because I knew staying active was the
key to having a fast recovery. I stayed with my routine until about 30 weeks when my doctor advised
bed rest (for unrelated health reasons). Those last few weeks were miserable. I not only gained almost
40 pounds those last few weeks, my ankles swelled like balloons and I felt awful.

The day I went into labor I was 37 weeks and woke up feeling strange. I felt some stomach pains, but
nothing I was alarmed about. I made myself breakfast and went about my day, even managed to go on
a short walk and clean the house. Around 8 p.m. my husband came home from work and asked me if I
was feeling ok because I looked flushed. I said I had a stomach ache and wanted to take a bath. This set
off alarms because in the 4 years we have been together he has never known me to want or take a bath.
He was certain and I must be in labor. I was in total denial because I have heard those stories that labor
is the most painful experience and I really didn’t feel like I was in pain at all.

Around 10pm, he finally convinced me that those stomach pains I was feeling every 15 minutes we in
fact contractions and we went to the hospital. When we arrived, the MD informed me that I was already
dilated to a 7 cm (10cm is the max). After that, things happened really fast.

I was rushed to the delivery room, where I thought I would get an epidural, but boy was I wrong! Less
than 45 minutes later, the doctor came in and told me to push with all my strength. In true, Cross Fit
fashion I held my abs and back tight, ensured that I was in a good solid position, took a deep breath
(literally these steps went through my head) and pushed. My son literally flew like Superman! Everyone
gasped, which was a little alarming. The doctor literally caught him in mid-air!

The next day, the doctor came to visit me and told me in her 20 years of doing deliveries she has never
seen a first time mom deliver like I did. She asked me what my secret was. I told her proudly, my secret
is Cross Fit. No joke. I know Cross Fit helped keep my core strong and my will power even stronger.
Now 10 weeks later I am back in the box doing what I love. I lost my pull ups and can’t do a single box
jump, but I know those things will come back soon. I am better, stronger, faster and I have Cross Fit to
thank for that.

My son, Brysan Lee Patton was born December 4, 2013, 7lbs, 6oz and heathy as can be!

 

 

Supplemental

Accumulate 1:30 Ring L-Sit

Leave a Reply

