9/12

For Time:
400m Run
40 Wall Ball
30 Toe 2 Bar
20 Wall Ball
10 Toe 2 Bar
400m Run

More is NOT better, BETTER is better.

More and more frequently at L1 seminars and during phone calls I have with people who have done some CrossFit and are interested in joining our gym it seems that I have to answer questions about whether we do our “strength” work before the workout every day or what we do for “core” stuff. I figured it’s about time I comment on these questions to all of you so that we’re all on the same page.

The basis of my answer is just what the headline reads… more isn’t better, better is better. By that I simply mean that in almost every case it doesn’t work well to try to squeeze as much as humanly possible into each hour with our athletes to the detriment of quality. I really don’t understand how some gyms do things like a 5×5 back squat at the beginning of class and then throw in a 15 minute workout and then top it off with a “cash out” of 50 burpees or 200 sit ups or something equally terrible. I’m a firm believer that if you’re spending adequate time on a warm up, properly instructing your athletes on best practices and proper mechanics while also coaching them through smart progressions in loading as well as mental preparation and sufficient rest between sets, that a 5×5 back squat day should take an entire class.

So how are all these gyms cramming so much into an hour? It’s entirely possible that I’m just a horrible coach and that I’m just really inefficient in working with people such that we’re wasting 20-30 minutes every time we lift heavy. I’m willing to posit that as a theory. What’s probably more likely though, based on my discussions with other top caliber coaches that I hold in high esteem, is that the things I value in coaching are largely being swept aside by these gyms for the sake of MORE MORE MORE.

I assume the thought is something like “we have to give everything to everyone every class and if we don’t they’ll go somewhere else”. I don’t really know.

What I do know is that here at CrossFit SAC we’re going to continue to strive to provide the best coaching and programming and atmosphere we can every day. That means that some days, for the sake of variety, we might move some heavy things and then do a more traditional WOD. But that every single day you’re guaranteed to leave having done a great workout and made yourself a little stronger, a little faster, a little more powerful and most of all a little better than yesterday!

Leave a Reply

