Thursday 8/8

3 rounds for reps of each movement:
45 sec max rep Toe 2 Bar
15 sec rest
45 sec max rep Sumo Deadlift High Pull @ 95/65
15 sec rest
45 sec max rep Double Under
1 min 15 sec rest

***Reminder***
Saturday’s (8/10) class will be held at Jane Steele Park, formerly Hamilton Street Park, at the end of Myrtle from 9:30-10:30. Also Open Gym on Sunday (8/11) will also be cancelled. We are hosting a Level 1 CrossFit seminar and apologize for any inconvenience.

From the blog Awkward Athlete

Three Reasons to Get Upset About CrossFit

About 13 months ago, I arrived home for lunch and found that all three elevators were out in my building.

I was living on the 20th floor at the time, so this was not soul crushing news. I grabbed my Hello Kitty lunchbox and plodded up the stairs, thinking that if anything this was an opportunity to burn some calories before gorging myself with mid-day pancakes and jelly beans. What I didn’t count on was months of lethargy and inactivity… I arrived at the front door soaked in sweat and ready to take a nap. I was only 28 years old.

I’m not sure when it happened, but at some point in my mid to late 20s I reached a state of general malaise. It was not a conscious decision, I didn’t wake up one morning and decide it was time to stop moving around quickly or throwing things on a field. It was just the result of months and months of stagnation and apathetic decisions.

And ding dongs. SO MANY DING DONGS.

And ding dongs. SO MANY DING DONGS.

Without action, my health was only getting worse. I had a vision of my sweaty, overweight, and out of breath self trying to keep up with my future unborn children and it was disquieting. My vision of the future would be an enormous disappointment to my childhood self, who had always planned on wearing jean jackets with Michael Dudikoff and staring handsomely at the horizon.

He could've snuck right in if just wore a red uniform.

He could’ve snuck right in if just wore a red uniform.

To continue, click here.

Leave a Reply

