Friday 7/5

“Isabel”

For time:

30 Snatches @ 135/95

We’ve been hitting a lot of benchmark workouts lately. This gives us a great opportunity to gauge progress and measure improvement. It can also be a source of frustration if you don’t hit that new PR. To help keep these things in perspective take a look at the article I’ve posted below.

Not every workout is going to be a PR. There are a number of factors that play into the time/score you put up on the board on a given day so don’t let yourself get down too much when you don’t hit a new milestone.

Case in point: after our 9amers headed out following the 4th of July WOD Amy and I took aim at Isabel. She was able to cut her last time in half! I on the other hand, added nearly a minute from my last time going from 2:25 to 3:13. Does that mean I’m suddenly less fit than last time? Not necessarily. It might mean that by trying a new approach (I was aiming for sets of 5 the whole way through) I actually kept myself from pushing to the level I needed to. Or it might mean that when it’s almost 100 degrees it affects my output. Or it might mean that the ice cream I just had to have the night before affected me more than I’d like to admit.

What it doesn’t mean is that I’m somehow failing in my training or need to reevaluate what I’m doing. One workout can never mean that.

On the other hand, if there becomes a trend of three, four or five workouts in a row that I’m seeing retrograde performance – now it’s time to take a look at what I’m doing and change some things up.

Fortunately for me when we did Nate earlier this week I did two full rounds more than I ever have, so I’m still on the right track.

Change Your Definition of Failure: It’s How You Get Better

It is said that failure is a necessary precursor to ultimate success. Want to make it big in the real world? Fail early, fail fast, fail often, as the saying goes.

Countless success stories are replete with mistakes and obstacles. Thomas Edison failed over 6,000 times before perfecting the first electrical lightbulb. Michael Jordan was cut from his high school basketball team and missed over 9,000 shots in his career. Oprah Winphrey was fired from an early anchor spot and deemed “unfit for TV.” Lady Gaga was dropped by Island Def Jam Records after only three months.

A failure that results from well-designed and well-intentioned experimentation can be worthy of praise. And regardless of whether failure offers any real value, it’s a common occurrence in our uncertain environment and a natural part of human existence. Creating a purposeful life requires messing up and venturing into the unknown. While we all want success, it’s not guaranteed. That’s why the ability to recover from setback and move forward is essential. And this starts with embracing, processing, and even benefiting from failure.

It’s easy to see why we fear failures, screw-ups and unknowns when you consider how they are traditionally defined:

Failure: 1. lack of success; failing 2. unsuccessful person or thing. 3. non-performance.

Screw-up: 1. bungle, mess. 2. mismanage a task. 3. thing incorrectly done or thought.

Unknown: 1. not known. 2. unfamiliar.

You can shift your perception and recognize their value (or at least take out the sting) by redefining them as follows:

Failure: 1. the starting line 2. part of process. 3. on the path to success.

Screw-up: 1. sign of innovation. 2. output of dedicated work 3. result of perseverance.

Unknown: 1. creative challenge. 2. new opportunity.

Failures, screw-ups, and unknowns help you build resilience and character, give you insights about your work, yourself, and others, enrich your experiences, test your emotional intelligence, and add to your knowledge and skills. To gain the most from them, you could practice the following dos and don’ts on how to respond:

Find the rest here…

Leave a Reply

