Wednesday 12/12

“Nate”

Complete as many rounds in twenty minutes as you can of:
2 Muscle-ups
4 Handstand Push-ups
8 2-Pood Kettlebell swings

Alright, so today is one of those posts where my role as gym owner collides firmly with my life as a big movie buff and Superman mega fan. But bear with me because I promise I’m going to tie in this trailer to some motivational thoughts.

I”ve ALWAYS been a Superman fan. Literally for as long as I can remember. My mom can show you pictures of tiny little me running around with a red towel around my neck or sleeping with my Superman pillow. It’s only now, in my adult years that I’m able to look back and see what it was that attracted me so much. I’d like to think it was more than just the fancy underwear, the flying, strength, invulnerability and the heat vision. I’d like to think it was the character he displayed. And that brings me to the lines in this trailer.

“You have to decide what kind of man you want to be Clark. Whoever that man is, is gonna change the world”.

Now, these lines are spoken to a young Superman, by his father Johnathan Kent.

Why don’t they apply to all of us?

Truly, we get to make choices every single day that determine the course of our respective lives and have impact on the people around us. We can choose to be giving or selfish, compassionate or spiteful. We can also choose to be lazy, slovenly or inactive.

I honestly can’t begin to describe the pride I feel about the quality of character possessed by our members on a daily basis.  For those of you who we have been lucky enough to call members of our gym, you have chosen to make positive change in your lives. You have chosen to change the world with your own actions. To reduce your risk of obesity, diabetes, heart disease. To improve your ability to care for yourself and for others. To give yourselves a better life.

I know this might seem like so much hyperbole, but I mean this all as sincerely as I can. In this way we are all a little like Superman, choosing to do the best we can with what we have and making things better along the way.

Leave a Reply

