Tuedsay 10/30

Overhead squat 1-1-1-1-1 reps
Front squat 1-1-1-1-1 reps
Back squat 1-1-1-1-1 reps

SEE 11/22

It’s funny but when I was checking to see the last time we did this particular WOD I came across the blog post from that day almost a year ago and it just so happens that I think it’s a good thing to keep in mind still so today’s blog post is a re-run of sorts. But hey, just like re-runs if you didn’t see it the first time it’s new to you.

Things to worry about after you have a 1000 pound Crossfit Total, a Sub 3:00 minute Fran, and a sub 35:00 min Murph:

  • Should I wear Skins?
  • Should I take the Progenex Whey Protein or L-Glutamine?
  • Should I visualize my WODs before I do them?
  • Should I limit my exposure to potentially estrogenizing plastics?

Things to worry about before then:

  • Did I eat real food today (plenty of Protein, some carbohydrates and fat)?
  • Did I sleep 7+ hours?
  • Did I work hard without being stupid at the WOD today?
  • Did I try to eliminate the things in my life that cause me stress?

This post was adapted from a post from Patriot CrossFit but I think it rings true. Often we get well meaning questions from our athletes about tiny bits of minutia pertaining to post workout recovery shakes and which type of nuts are best or which days would be best to train to get upper and lower body work in. I usually try to answer these questions but when the rubber meets the road many of these questions don’t really matter unless some underlying conditions are met.

Starting with a solid base of nutrition is absolutely, unequivocally a necessity if you really want to get the most out of your effort during the WOD. Once that’s out of the way we need to start talking about sleep and stress levels, both of which help manage stress hormones that can derail success. Then let’s take a look at the effort you’re putting forth in the WOD’s and what sort of progress you’re making. Is it time to start adding some more weight to your WOD’s? Do you need to get in more often than two or three times a week? These things are all going to go into the equation of your improvement.

So start thinking about this foundation and how you’re going to continue to build your fitness with this in mind.

Leave a Reply

